New to me Music: The Front Bottoms

Being friends with AR has introduced me to a lot of new music, particularly of the indie, folk, and punk variety. Between AR’s influence and 8tracks, I’ve had the distinct pleasure of falling in love with a ton of bands over the last several months. I’ve already seen some of them live and this summer, I’ll get to see more.

Last week, I received a very sad email that the Gaslight Anthem show AR and I were planning to attend at Lupo’s Heartbreak Hotel in June has been postponed until September. By then, AR will be off at Rutgers University in New Jersey and I have no idea where I’ll be. We opted to have our tickets refunded and then scoured the internet for another show to attend.

The Front BottomsLucky for us, The Front Bottoms are playing at The Sinclair in Cambridge, Mass., on July 13. The Front Bottoms are a two-piece indie outfit from New Jersey and the band’s self-titled LP has been on repeat on my Spotify account all week. The song “Rhode Island” has appeared on a number of AR’s mixes and playlists (appropriate, really) and the vocal/instrumental combination the band produces is unmistakable. As soon as I pulled up the song on Spotify, I recognized it.

Moments later, I bought tickets to the show. Yeah. I’m that into the sound this band produces and the aesthetic that accompanies it. I miss listening to weird indie music and going to shows where I can sing along and dance. Music that makes you happy is super important and The Front Bottoms produce that in spades.

It’s an added bonus that the band is playing at The Sinclair, which is a new venue in Cambridge. We saw La Dispute and The Menzingers at the venue in January and I absolutely fell in love. It’s small and intimate with fantastic acoustics and an incredibly nice staff. I can’t wait to go back and see The Front Bottoms there, especially since its music is so different from the other bands I’ve seen there.

I’m not entirely sure what to expect from this show, but I’ve a few months to anticipate it and learn all the words to the band’s music. According to The Front Bottoms’ website, a new album drops May 21, which will give it a decent repertoire of songs to choose from for the performance. As it stands, I wouldn’t mind just seeing the entire self-titled LP performed from beginning to end. There isn’t a single song I dislike, which is saying something. I almost always find at least one track to pick at and pull apart — but that’s not the case with this album, which is great.

The Front Bottoms are fun and quirky and a little dark. Some of the band’s lyrics are achingly romantic while others verge on creeptastic. I’m here for every last word, though, and I can’t wait for July 13. I’m still sad I don’t get to see the Gaslight Anthem this summer, but this show at least makes up for some of the pain.

 

New to me Music: The Front Bottoms

One thought on “New to me Music: The Front Bottoms

Leave a Reply

