Sriracha: The only condiment that matters

Last month, news of a potential Sriracha shortage put lots of people into a panic. I was just recently introduced to the chili sauce, made by Huy Fong Foods in Irwindale, California, and I have to admit I became an immediate addict. (Despite health issues that should make me want to stay far, far away from spicy foods, I can’t help but love them.) So when I heard that there might be a shortage of the product, I went out and bought a bottle at the local grocery store.

I’ve been eating it with pretty much everything, since. It makes an awesome dipping sauce for MorningStar Chik’n Nuggets, the perfect topper for super crispy french fries, a great addition to pasta dishes. Basically, Sriracha is the only condiment that matters.

20140106_172550Enter: an intense grilled cheese craving, hardly fulfilled by a half-sandwich for dinner after a late, long, exhausting work shift. Enter: my brain wondering how to incorporate Sriracha into grilled cheese. What happened at this point was, in my humble opinion, one of the best damn ideas I’ve ever, ever had.

The picture to the left may not look like more than an average grilled cheese, but let me tell you: it is the best damn grilled cheese I’ve ever eaten. (I pride myself on my grilled cheese sandwiches, so I consider this proclamation to be very serious, indeed.)

Sriracha Grilled Cheese

You will need: butter, Sriracha, two slices of bread, several thin slices of sharp cheddar cheese, a frying pan and a stove

  1. Melt butter (I used about 2 tablespoons, because I like my grilled cheese sandwiches to be as bad for my arteries as they are delicious) in the microwave — should take about 20 seconds.
  2. Mix Sriracha sauce into melted butter. (I eyeballed this amount too — I used maybe two teaspoons? You can use more or less depending on how hot you want your sandwich.) A butter knife should work fine, but make sure to mix thoroughly, until the mixture is a light orange color.
  3. Let the mixture sit for a minute or two to harden into something spreadable. This is a great time to slice your cheese, if you haven’t already! You can also start to heat your frying pan (on medium heat is best).
  4. Spread Sriracha-butter mixture over one side of each slice of bread. Once pan is hot, lay one slice of bread, Sriracha-buttered side down, in the pan. Layer with slices of cheese and top with the other bread slice.
  5. Let bread toast and cheese melt (this process can be sped up by putting a lid on the frying pan, which will trap the heat and melt the cheese faster). Flip sandwich over and toast the other side.
  6. ENJOY.

There are many, many things I learned today. The first is that Sriracha is, quite literally, the only condiment that matters, as it can improve anything and everything (except for maybe sweets). The second is that when eating a Sriracha Grilled Cheese, one should have milk handy to smother the burn when it’s too much. And the third is that I’m really not a very good food blogger, but this sandwich was so damn good that I had to share it anyway.

Sriracha: The only condiment that matters

2 thoughts on “Sriracha: The only condiment that matters

Leave a Reply

