Mixtape: I hope you wanna let go

Accidental matching move-in day flannels.
Accidental matching move-in day flannels.

It is a truth universally acknowledged that moving is a pain in the ass. I had never truly realized just how much moving sucks until this week, when I packed up all my stuff and drove it from my parents’ house in the middle of New Hampshire to my new apartment in Rhode Island. Actually, let me amend that — I made one trip down a couple weeks ago with about half of my stuff, and attempted to cram the other half into my sub-compact car two days ago. Needless to say, even with my mom’s professionally-honed moving (a.k.a. Real Life Tetris) skills, I had to leave some stuff behind.

I’m currently working on developing a new Internet space with my new roommate, AR, to document all of our fun apartment projects. I also start a brand new job tomorrow morning and soon, we get to go shopping for furniture so that there are actual places to sit! My goal is to write a more in-depth, extensive post chronicling my moving experience soon, but for the time being, I wanted to share the mix I finished today in honor of the occasion.

As much as I love my parents, I never had any intention of moving back in with them after I graduated college. I intended to move to a city, go to graduate school, become a professor and read a lot of Shakespeare. I’ve written before, in other places on the Internet, about the wide-eyed naivete with which I entered college, expecting everything to be just like my dreams once I left. But now I’ve officially moved out of my parents’ house and in with my best friend, and while that’s really amazing it’s also kind of terrifying. This mix contains some tunes that reflect those feelings:

Mix_MovingI hope you wanna let go

Mixtape: I hope you wanna let go

2 thoughts on “Mixtape: I hope you wanna let go

Leave a Reply

